

Minutes of the Ironbridge Gorge Walking Festival Annual General Meeting held at 4.30pm on Monday 3rd July 2023 at Coalbrookdale Community Cenre and via Zoom

Neil Cartman (Chairman) (NC)	Р	Jane Warman (JW)	Р	Dag Saunders (DS)	Α
Irene Gilmore (IG) via VC	Р	Jon Bielstein (JB) via VC	Р	Sally Williams (SW)	Α
Lynn Turner (LT)	Р	Linda Birtwhistle (LB)	Р		
Amber Bicheno (AB) via VC	Р	Mike Phillips (part meeting) VC	Р	From Wider AGM Invite	
Jackie Bletcher (JB)	Р	lan Kelsey (after AGM) via VC	Р	Bob Thomas (Walk Leader)	Р

P = Present

A = Apologies

Agenda Item and Discussion	Action	Ву	When
Chair's Report for 2023			
NC presented the Chair's report and concluded that the 2023 festival was a success. We had 900 pre-bookings of which 1218 places, the first time we have had over 1,000 filled places and by 490 different walkers.			
This was our most well attended festival to date with walkers covering 11,508 miles over 63 walks. The walks were 86% subscribed. Thanks were extended to all those involved in the planning and delivery of the Festival.			
Financial Report 2023			
IG presented the financial report which was APPROVED.	Tins need to be collected from LB.	IG	31/07/23























Balance carried forward from 14th July 2022 = £3,035.50 Income 14th July 2022 to 29th June 2023 = £699.00 **Expenditure** 14th July 2022 to 29th June 2023 = £831.88

Leaving a closing balance on 29 June 2023 of £2,583.95

No corporate donations received in this AGM year. Personal donations amounted to £699.00.

This was a healthy position for next year's Festival recognising the cost of living pressures. It was recommended by the Treasurer that further corporate donations and grants to be sought for the 2024 Festival.

Election of Committee

Following the election of the new Management Committee the positions held for 2023 - 2024 are:

Officer Positions

Chair - Jane Warman

Secretary - Lynn Turner (no change)

Treasurer - Mike Phillips

Communications Officer – Lynn Turner (no change)

Members

The Gorge Parish Council - Lee Proudfoot (to be confirmed)

Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust (IGMT) - Vacant

Severn Gorge Countryside Trust – Amber Bicheno from August 2022

Discover Telford – Jon Bielstein

Friends of Telford 50 Mile Trail - Vacant

Walk Leaders - Linda Birtwhistle, Sally Williams, Ian Kelsey, Jackie Bletcher, Jane Warman and Mike Phillips.





















JW to approach

with LP.

IGMT and confirm



31/08/23

JW



NC recognised individually the contributions of Irene Gilmore, who was Treasurer for 5 years and Dag Saunders who was a founding member of the Festival who both stood down at the AGM.

LT and JW led the tributes to Neil Cartman, who stood down as Chairman after 10 years, recognising his leadership and the growth and reputation of the festival during this time. This was fully endorsed by those present and further words of appreciation were extended, including those made via social media.

NC thanked the committee and extended congratulations to JW as our new Chair and wished the festival future success.

AGM Closed at 17:05 hours























